Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Lovely Readers,

I realize now that my last post could be taken as a set-back but I want to reassure you that it was not. Yes, my body reacted very badly to the junk-food binge but I will say a few good things have come out of it.

First of all, it has helped me reach my goal weight for the month of March, although somewhat early, but it is in no way a set-back. I look in the mirror and for once I have started too like what I see. I want to take the time to tell you a bit about the physical aspects of my recovery thus far.

For the first time in two years, I cannot count the ribs between my breast bones. I know this may not sound like much, but when I first started to lose weight this was the first physical aspect I began to hate. It meant I had to wear high-collared shirts and the idea of a low-cut top was out of the question.

The second thing I’ve noticed is that I have the beginning of a booty. It is no where near the size it used to be but as a self-described ‘butt girl’ (I’ve never had much of a chest) I am just excited to be getting anything back at all. My tailbone no longer sticks out and I can sit in a chair for long periods of time without any discomfort!

Now, as I tend to gain weight in my legs quicker than my upper body, I am proud to say that my legs no longer look twig-like and my knees no longer look like oranges shoved onto a stick. My calves are still smaller than I’d like but my thighs have shaped up quite nicely thanks, in part, to my strength moves.

My arms, oh how many lovely things can I say about you. Before you were quite literally so sickly looking that I was forced to cover you with long sleeves even in summer. You were pale, veiny and had elbows that stuck out at weird angles. I was ashamed by your puny appearance the most. However, since incorporating free weights into my life you have taken on a life of your own. You have grown muscles I never even knew existed. I used to think there was only biceps and triceps, boy was I wrong.

And lastly, my poor tummy. i have put you through quit a lot throughout the years and yet even at the height of my illness you would never quite lay flat. You always had a way of indenting in the middle and prodrouding at the bottom. Oh how I despised this, yet only now that I have begun gaining have you also begun to fill out in the middle to create a linear platform. Yes, you read that right, gaining weight has been the only thing to give me a flat stomach.

I hope this post can inspire those who are currently contemplating recovery or are worried that they will ‘get fat.’ Trust me, you will not get fat nor do you have to gain tons and tons of fat super quick. I am living proof of that.

Feel free to message me if you have any questions.

Much Love,

R