Lovelies,

As most young women in America, I find I am absolutely terrified of gaining weight. Not so much the gaining part, or even the weight part, but the weight distribution part. We are told, as a society. that curves are good only so long as they’re offset with other small features. Big boobs and butts – yes – big thighs and waists – no, no, no.

This is, of course, impossible to achieve. I think I am finally comping to terms with the fact that I will never have large boobs, nor will I ever have the enviable body of the victoria’s secret models. There’s a reason people pay lots of money to see them – they’re an abnormality.They are honestly one-in-a-million.

During a recent conversation with my brother, I was astonished to hear that men do not actually like the six-pack stick thin look of runway models. He quickly dispelled all my fears of getting fat in the way that only a male’s no-nonsense approach can.

“Rachel,” he said. “When you lay down to go to sleep do you lay on the floor? When you watch TV do you sit on a pile of rocks? No. People like for things to be soft. I want my woman to be soft.”

Wow. This concept sort of blew my mind. For so long I have ached to have rock-hard muscle, yet all I have been left with is a bony ass and razor-sharp shoulder blades. I do not think I have a single ‘soft spot’ left on my body. I look sick.

I have had a sort of mini epiphany. I will most likely continue to incorporate strength training into my routine, but I will only do it if I really want to, not because I feel I have to. I want to have curves again, somewhere soft for my future boyfriend to lie his head, or for my future child to cuddle up against.

As I reminisce back to my childhood, I have fond memories of what it felt like to snuggle into my mother’s soft, warm side. It was there I felt calm, safe and loved. If a child were to snuggle with me now he would be left cold and bruised. What sort of woman am I? How womanly is it to have sharp bones and hollow eyes?

So now, I declare that my struggle is not only in pursuit of happiness but in pursuit of softness. I’m not precisely sure when I lost this essential aspect of womanhood, but I damn well know that I want it back.

Sincerely,
R

20120212-170705.jpg

20120212-170714.jpg

20120212-170734.jpg

20120212-170743.jpg

20120212-170751.jpg

20120212-170759.jpg

20120212-171022.jpg

20120212-171028.jpg

20120212-171037.jpg

20120212-171044.jpg