Tags

, , , , , , ,

Day #2

What Does Recovery Mean to You?

For me the word recovery means so much more than a scale telling me I have reached that magical 18.5. Personally, my recovery is a rather multi-faceted struggle. I have so many goals and ambitions that are only feasible if I beat the demon within, which is why I have decided to list all my goals for the coming year. So here, this is what recovery means to me:

• Fitting back into my heaps of adorable clothes that have piled up on my wardrobe floor, too saggy or big to fit my emaciated frame.

• When I can start feeling something other than hunger & distress. When I can care about things like friends, family & experiences rather than meals, nutrition and avoidance.

• When I can say yes to an invitation without worrying about what food will be present, if I should go and how I can possibly get out of it.

When I can eat something that I don’t know the calorie count of & enjoying it all the same.

•When my once lovely, thick hair comes back.

• When I get my period back.

When the sight of dessert excites, rather than frightens me.

When I can enjoy a salad or a run on a bright springtime morning without feeling guilty for ‘impeding’ my recovery.

I suppose this list could go on and on but I’ll keep it brief for you – the reader’s – sake. Just know, that deep down I have a long, long list of reasons why I wish to recover. They range from physical to emotional to personal but at their core, they all contain some sort of recovery process.

Wish me luck as I continue.

R

P.S. I’m upping my calories once more. :/